• Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © Nancy Hidy Wilson, 2010-2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nancy Hidy Wilson and nancyhidywilson.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Time For a Change


Shortly after the turn of the century (Y2K anyone?), I restarted the Houston Area SQL Server User Group (HASSUG) with the help of Tyler Chessman, who has been our local Microsoft liaison the entire time and without whom I couldn’t have run the group on my own for so long. I think the first meeting was in 2001, but I no longer have records going back that far to pinpoint the exact startup date. I know we met bi-monthly for the first year or so and then moved to monthly meetings in January 2003. We became a PASS affiliated Chapter when they began that program. In 2013, we combined the meetings for the Houston Area SQL Server User Group and the Houston BI User Group (which Tyler sporadically ran) into a single meeting with 2 topic presentations, one of which is always focused on the BI stack.

So, here we are some 14+ years later, having held 160+ meetings and having executed 4 SQLSaturdays, and it is time for me to hand over the reins of the group to some new leadership. Lynn McKee and Derek Wilson (no relation!) are now the official co-leaders of the group. Lynn and Derek have been shadowing me for the past few months as “chapter leaders in training” and I am more than satisfied that they are committed and ready to take the group to the next level.

I will still be around – attending meetings and presenting when needed (like in July and again in August!). I also promised Allen Kinsel (who took the lead on the past two SQLSaturday Houston events) that I’d help with the next SQLSaturday, too. And now he has it in writing, in public, for all to see! Leading the local chapter has given me the opportunity to meet so many wonderful people in our SQL Server community (aka #SQLFamily) – and not just locally. Participating in the Chapter Leader meetings at PASS Summit every year I look forward to engaging with other leaders from around the world. Over the past 15 years that I’ve attended Summit, so many of them are #SQLFamily to me now, too. It has been a great run and part of me will miss it, but I’m excited to be passing the torch to Lynn and Derek. They have some great ideas for the future and I hope you will give them your full support. After all, this is a volunteer job – we all do it for the love of the community.

If you’d like to volunteer to speak, sponsor, or otherwise help with the group, you can continue to use the HASSUG@sqlpass.org email account to contact Lynn and Derek. Follow the @HASSUG and @SQLSatHou Twitter accounts for info and keep an eye on the website for upcoming meeting info.

See you at the next meeting!

One Response

  1. […] that she is stepping back from leading the Houston Chapter after an incredible 14 years! Read Time For a Change to learn more about the journey and the transition. Thank you […]

Leave a Reply

